Interview: Top Model’s Naomi Quarrinton

As we know the fashion industry can be a tough and cut throat world, but dreams do come true (cheesy?) if you try hard enough. One awesome example is Naomi Quarrinton, who’s stunning handmade designs graced the Top Model UK catwalk once before, and she is already due back for a second season. Below I have an inspirational interview with the lady herself, who shows that hard work and determination always prevails. I think I should stop babbling and show you this little interview with the designing star herself. Voila’!

Your designs are beautiful, you can really see the work and craftsmanship that has gone into them. Did you always have a love for clothes and fashion?

At a young age I was always creative, I loved being creative! I always used to buy clothes and look to see how I could alter them in any way, by attaching different things to an item or ripping jeans etc.
 

How did you start designing and making clothes?

One summer I had gained weight and literally had nothing to wear at all! I found this really big and long scarf, that I wrapped around myself and made into a maxi dress. I thought that i could make loads of these maxi dresses, so I went out, bought some fabric, a sewing machine and I began. I was completely self taught, I just sat in my back room sewing, and it soon became a business.
 

Wow that is great! So how did you become a part of Top Model?

I had a friend who had recently taken part in Top Model UK, and was a runner up in the commercial category. She loved my pieces. Geoff- the director of Top model really liked my designs, and offered me a place on the show, in the commercial and natural beauty category! I had my first EVER fashion show, it was amazing. It’s one of the biggest shows in London, it was a fantastic experience, bearing in mind I had hardly been sewing for long!
 

Since Top Model what have you been up to?

Since Top Model my business has grown and grown. I have been invited back for a second year to design and show my collections on the runway again for both categories, which is on Friday 12th April!
 

What plans do you have for the future?

I am soon to be launching my very own website, and hopefully I will be opening a boutique in Huddersfield, where I am based, very soon, and if that works out I will be opening a chain of them! I also hope to apply For London Fashion Week and other big catwalk shows.
 

What do you think has been your greatest achievement?

I am very proud of what I have achieved in just 18 months of launching the Naomi Quarrinton label, I had never stuck to a profession before, I never knew what I wanted to do with my life, until I took up sewing. Now it is my life, my passion and I would not give it up for the world!! 
Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Copyright © 2013 Naomi Quarrinton. All Rights Reserved.

Comments
2 Responses to “Interview: Top Model’s Naomi Quarrinton”
  1. Edetik.Com says:

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am waiting for your further write ups thank you
    once again.

  2. I simply want to tell you that I’m very new to blogging and certainly enjoyed you’re web page. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your site . You absolutely have terrific well written articles. Regards for revealing your blog site.

Leave a Reply

